BASSET On premise $13.99
BASSET and Food Handler 21.95
Course content provided by 360training.com. Please select from the following courses.
To enroll, click the green box above.
Course content provided by 360training.com.
If you work in Cook County, you are required by law to have BASSET Training.
As of July 1, 2015, all servers of alcohol and bouncers who check ID must have their BASSET certification in order to work in Cook County.
All new hires must have certification within 120 days of being hired.
All Illinois BASSET cardholders must renew their certification every three years.
BASSET Certification Required By July 1, 2016
St. Clair County
This page also offers a complete guide to the recognition of, the consequences of, parental responsibility, including legal repercussions; and the methods of stopping underage drinking. The effects upon the taxpayers of Illinois from this issue are discussed.
BEVERAGE ALCOHOL SELLERS AND SERVERS EDUCATION AND TRAINING (BASSET) PROGRAMS
BASSET is Illinois’ form of Alcohol Server Seller Laws, Regulations, Training, Certification, and Implementation of the Liquor Control Act of 1934. [end note 1]
What is the purpose of a BASSET program?
(a) The purpose of a BASSET program information or sellers and servers of alcoholic beverages about the effects of alcohol and drug abuse; and
(b) Provide the necessary developmental skills and techniques to identify and/or intervene with patron use issues thereby hopefully reducing the incidence of patron misuse.
BASSET Rules and Regulations
The goals and objectives of the BASSET Program are:
Training and educating sellers and servers to properly engage in responsible alcohol service;
Spot signs of intoxication and have the knowhow to utilize various intervention techniques;
Help to prevent DUIs and alcohol-related fatalities;
Help stop underage sales and underage drinking;
Help create safer communities and establishments where alcohol is served;
And to educate owners, managers and staff on dram shop insurance, state laws, and local ordinances regarding alcohol service.
Q: What is BASSET and what does it mean?
BASSET stands for Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training.
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) is the licensing and regulatory authority for all seller/server training programs in the State of Illinois. The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) licenses, approves and administers seller/server training programs that are recognized as a BASSET approved program.
Q: I lost my BASSET card, how do I get a replacement card?
A: Call the ILCC BASSET program at 312-814-0773 and have proof of identification to verify certification through a licensed BASSET provider. The cost of a replacement card is $15.
Q: Our employees are still having difficulty determining the age of customers from their I.D. What can I do?
A: The first step in preventing underage sales is to ask for an ID. If the customer does not have an ID – then don’t sell. The Illinois driver’s license and state ID formats make the determination of a customter’s age relatively easy. If an ID has a vertical orientation it means the individual is considered a minor for alcohol and/or tobacco. Look on the side of their photo, and the date the individual turns 18 and/or 21 is shown. Most importantly, make sure you make a determination that the person in the ID photo is the person handing you the ID. To learn more about how to properly check ID’s, plan on enrolling you and your employees in a BASSET class. Visit the BASSET Program page on this website to learn more about this program.
Q: Is BASSET training mandatory?
A: The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) encourages voluntary participation in BASSET training programs. Please note that several local liquor license authorities have established specific training requirements as a condition for proper licensing or employment. It is the responsibility of all Illinois liquor license holders and staff to be aware of state and local liquor laws, rules and regulations. Licensees and servers can visit the Local Survey page or call the village hall in the municipality they are operating to see if they are required to have BASSET training. Many independent businesses and corporate chains may require their employees to be BASSET certified.
Q: What will I learn in a BASSET class?
A: State-licensed BASSET programs provide training in areas ranging from prevention/intervention strategies to age-verification techniques. Participants will know how to recognize when a patron is intoxicated and has been over served. Servers will be taught behavioral cues and signs to spot when someone is intoxicated. They will be taught what to say and how to handle an intoxicated patron to discontinue service of alcohol at a liquor establishment. Training programs properly instruct sellers/servers regarding age-verification techniques, which can deter underage sales and service.
Q: What are the objectives of the BASSET Program?
A: The objectives of the BASSET program are to adequately train and educate sellers and servers to serve alcohol responsibly. By properly training the alcoholic beverage industry through BASSET programs, the number of drunk driving fatalities could decrease, and can reduce sales and service to minors. Ultimately, seller/server training will keep liquor establishments and communities safer.
Q: What is the required length of a BASSET class?
A: For on premise establishments (bars, restaurants, taverns, night clubs and banquet halls), BASSET training is 4 hours long. For off-premise establishments (grocery stores, convenient stores, gas stations and liquor stores), training must be at least 3 hours in length.
Q: How much does BASSET training cost and who pays?
A: Cost of training varies since it is left up to the free market. Licensed BASSET providers can charge as much as $50 or more for training, which can be paid by the seller/server or the business owner.
Q: Do I get a card or certificate after I complete a BASSET class?
A: The licensed BASSET provider is required to issue a temporary certificate of completion upon passage of the examination. Licensed BASSET providers must send a roster to the ILCC to grant state-issued BASSET cards to participants. It is prerogative of the licensed BASSET provider, participant, or employer to request where they want their state-issued BASSET card sent.
Q: How long is certification good for and do I have to be recertified?
A: Since the BASSET program is a voluntary program, length of certification or re-certification is based upon the ordinance in the town you are doing business or the server training company you used to get certified. Currently, the state has no expiration date; however, most training companies and many local jurisdictions require recertification every three years.
Q: Will I get reduced insurance rates if I send my staff to BASSET training?
A: There are some insurance companies that will reduce your liquor liability if your entire staff is BASSET trained.
Q: Who provides BASSET classes in Illinois and how do I enroll in a class?
A: There are over 200 licensed BASSET providers throughout Illinois. Licensed BASSET providers come from a wide range of backgrounds. Trainers consist of independent contractors, businesses, hotel/restaurant chains, police departments, insurance agencies, colleges, and universities. To view the complete list and sign up for a class, please visit the Licensed BASSET Providers web page.
Q: How do I become a BASSET trainer?
In order to conduct seller/server training in the state of Illinois, an entity or individual must have a BASSET license. A person must complete an instructor training course and pass an exam. When the instructor training is completed, application for a BASSET license must be filled out and accompanied by a check for $250. Enclosed must be a copy of your certificate and course materials. The instructor training programs on the ILCC website have an affidavit that must be filled out and notarized in lieu of sending the course materials. The BASSET license is good for one year, and a renewal notice will be sent seven weeks prior to expiration.
Q: Can I take the training online?
A: There are online training program available on our website, however some Illinois municipalities may not accept online programs. Check with your local ordinances first.
BASSET Curriculum Requirements
The program must submit its curriculum to the Commission for review at the time of application for licensure. The curriculum shall include minimally, information in the following areas of instruction:
a) AREA 1: PHYSICAL PROPERTIES OF ALCOHOL, DRUGS & ALCOHOLISM – Blood alcohol concentration (BAC), alcoholism, the effects of alcohol and/or drugs on driving performance and awareness. BAC levels related to body weight, gender and amount of alcohol consumed per hour.
b) AREA 2: PREVENTION & INTERVENTION TECHNIQUES – Maintenance of professional demeanor, use of alternative beverages, designated driver programs, visual and behavioral cues that may help participants recognize potential problems, assuring customer safety, refusal of service.
c) AREA 3: ILLINOIS STATE STATUES, LOCAL ORDINANCES, ILLINOIS DUI LAWS – Laws pertaining to the sale of alcohol and the differences between civil and criminal charges and the penalties each carries, Illinois DUI laws and associated penalties.
d) AREA 4: PROPER IDENTIFICATION TECHNIQUES, POLICE POLICIES & EXPECTATIONS – Secretary of State’s procedures to ensure the security of driver’s licenses and State ID cards, other acceptable forms of identification and enhanced identification techniques. Proper use of municipal support services (police, fire, and paramedic services).
e) AREA 5: DRAM SHOP LIABILITIES, INSURANCE, AND VICTIM’S RIGHTS – “Vicarious liability”, “third party liability”, procedures for protection against possible litigation, State insurance requirements and legal terms used in litigation.
BASSET Programmatic Requirements [end note 3]
a) The BASSET program shall allow minimally three hours of classroom instruction for off-premises sellers and four hours for on-premises sellers and servers. This instruction may be offered in one absolute session or scheduled in increments over a specified period of time. The program time can be adapted to take into account new, innovative teaching methods if approved by the Commission.
b) At the time of application for licensure, the program must specify how the required curriculum hours will be scheduled.
c) BASSET programs shall create the design and administer a pre-test and post-test to participants to assess the program’s applicability and any increase apprehension in the curriculum areas. The pre-test and post-test must be submitted for review by the Commission at the time of application for licensure or ahead of the provision of services.
d) BASSET programs shall issue a certificate of completion to each participant that it determines has successfully completed the course.
e) BASSET programs shall submit at the time of licensing a listing of all BASSET instructors.
f) Within ten days after the accomplishment of an approved training course, the BASSET licensee shall accede to the Commission a roster. The roster shall include: the name, address, telephone number and date of birth of each student who successfully complete the training course and passed the required assessment; the name and company of the BASSET trainer that conducted the course; the date each participant successfully completed the course; and whether the course was off-premises instruction only. The Commission will then accord BASSET cards to those applicants and participants who successfully complete the course. Replacement cards will cost $15. These cards must be carried by the person whose name appears on the card if affiliated in the selling and/or serving of alcoholic liquor and local ordinance mandates BASSET training. A BASSET licensee may issue a temporary card to any person who has successfully completed its course. The temporary card shall be valid pending receipt of the card issued by the Commission but for no longer than 30 days after issuance of the temporary card.
g) Within 30 days after notification by the Commission, BASSET programs shall compile and submit, on a format designed by the Commission, a semi-annual report containing the following information:
1) The number of participants trained during the reporting period.
2) The number of BASSET courses scheduled and completed during the reporting period and the location of each course.
3) The total fees charged for BASSET training per course during the reporting period.
4) The number of businesses represented by participants completing BASSET programs and the respective counties of those businesses.
h) BASSET programs shall maintain a record of all participants who successfully complete BASSET training for a minimum of one year.
(Source: Amended at 32 Ill. Reg. 18300, effective November 14, 2008)
A. No licensee, individual, partnership or corporation shall give away any alcoholic liquor for commercial purposes or in connection with the sale of non-alcoholic products or to promote the sale of non-alcoholic products.
B. No licensee, individual, partnership, or corporation shall advertise or promote in any way, whether on or off-licensed premises, any of the practices prohibited under subsection (a) of this Section. This includes, but is not limited to, advertisements using the words “free” or “complimentary” with alcoholic liquor.
C. Subsection (a) shall not apply to test marketing or tasting.
(Source: Amended at 23 Ill. Reg. 3787, effective March 15, 1999)
Transfer of Alcohol [end note 5]
The holder of a retail license for the privilege of selling alcoholic liquors at retail on the premises specified in the license, for use or consumption, is hereby restricted to such sale from the licensed premises only and is not permitted to sell to, purchase from or transfer such alcoholic liquor to any other retail licensee or any licensed premises. This Section does not address transactions not in the standard course of business, such as a business closure, if prior approval is accorded by the Commission.
(Source: Amended at 23 Ill. Reg 3787, effective March 15, 1999),
Refilling [end note 6]
No retail licensee shall offer for sale, or possess on the licensed premises:
A. Any original package of alcoholic liquor which contains any kind or quality of alcoholic liquor other than that which has been sealed and labeled by the manufacturer or nonresident dealer.
B. Any original package of alcoholic liquor to which there has been added any water or other substance.
(Source: Amended at 23 Ill. Reg. 3787, effective March 15, 1999)
Delivery of Alcohol
In the sale, distribution or delivery of alcoholic liquors, no retail alcoholic liquor licensee may employ, with or without compensation, or in any way directly or indirectly, use the services of a minor.
(Source: Amended at 18 Ill. Reg. 4811, effective March 9, 1994)
What ILLC Does
Ensures that licensees comply with the provisions of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 and its Rules and Regulations.
Issues approximately 28,000 state liquor licenses each year at various classifications for the three tiers of the liquor industry. Strict qualifying criteria must be followed to obtain a liquor license as defined in the Illinois Liquor Control Act, which includes ownership information, local licensing, tax status and sales tax history. Revenues collected from liquor license fees fund all Commission operations.
Conducts approximately 26,000 routine inspections of licensed premises via its team of 24 agents who are headquartered throughout the state. Upon finding violations of the Illinois Liquor Control Act, electronic reports are transmitted to the central office for adjudication.
Violations are reviewed and evaluated to determine the severity of the offense and method by which cases are to be adjudicated—from penalty fines to citing for formal hearings.
ILCC’s Chairman and six Commissioners hold 18 formal hearings each year. They rule on the most serious of cases — including those affecting the health and safety of community — and hear appeals brought to the Commission by licensees who wish to challenge the local liquor commissioner’s decision.
The Liquor Commission works jointly with the Illinois Department of Revenue to collect delinquent sales tax payments from liquor licensees.
Mail and Web Orders
Monitors and regulates mail order and internet sales of alcohol beverage products within Illinois and collaborates with regulatory bodies from other states to prevent illegal shipments of alcohol to minors.
Provides an industry education program, which focuses primarily on the ILCC’s enforcement practices; interpretation of Illinois liquor control laws and minimum age tobacco laws; and public awareness efforts regarding the consequences of underage drinking.
Encourages responsible selling and serving of alcohol by licensing and promoting the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program. Additionally, to keep communities safe, various materials have been created — including public service announcements, posters, and fliers — to reduce incidents of driving under the influence of alcohol and decrease illegal sales of alcohol beverages to minors.
ILCC special agents administrate underage purchasers during adventitious ID checks. These checks, which are performed throughout the State of Illinois, test retail sales personnel on their duty to perform proper ID checks in the sale of alcohol. Agents also conduct periodic compliance sweeps in conjunction with other state and local enforcement agencies to check for violations above and beyond Illinois liquor laws. Lastly, the Commission conducts random tobacco compliance checks to measure retailer compliance to minimum age tobacco laws. Grants are also cater to local jurisdictions, who perform their own checks.
Q: What is the minimum age to sell/serve alcoholic liquor and can minors enter a bar?
A: Both answers are subject to local jurisdictional ordinances, but, at a minimum, the seller/server must be at least 18 years of age (you can view various ordinances for most local jurisdictions by visiting the Local Survey on this website). Click on Legal FAQs for more information on this, and other frequently asked legal questions.
Q: I lost my renewal application. Can I still renew my liquor license online?
A: Yes. Please visit the MyTax Illinois Instructions page on this website to learn how to set up and access your online liquor license management account. Please allow approximately 3 to 7 business days for processing after online submission. Click on Licensing FAQs for more frequently asked licensing questions.
Q: I have received a notice that an “ROT Hold” has been placed on my license. What does this mean and how do I remove it?
A: You cannot renew your license when a “Retailers’ Occupation Tax (ROT) Hold” is placed on your license by the Illinois Department of Revenue. Prior to renewing your license, please check your MyTax Illinois online account to review and pay any outstanding balance (visit the MyTax Illinois Instructions page on this website to learn how to set up and access your online liquor license management account) or call one of the numbers below to remove the hold:
312-814-7067 312-814-7066 312-814-7065 312-814-7020 312-814-2250
Q: What signage is required for posting in my business and where can I order these signs?
A: All liquor retailers must post a government warning sign (alerting patrons to the dangers of drinking while pregnant) along with their liquor license and Illinois Business Tax (IBT) certificate. All signage must be framed and posted in a conspicuous place within the premises, such as behind the bar or at the point-of-sale. Other signage (including a “Proof of Age” sign and local liquor license) may also be required by your local jurisdictional authority. Please visit our Alcohol Retailer Licensee Informational Packet page to order the above mentioned signage. Additionally, some on-premise liquor retailers are required to prohibit firearms in their establishment (visit the Illinois State Police’s Concealed Carry Signage Requirements web page), while tobacco retailers must post the required “Surgeon General’s Warning” and “Warning to Minors” signs (see the Tobacco FAQs for more details).
Q: I lost my BASSET card, how do I get a replacement card?
A: Call the ILCC BASSET program at 312-814-0773 and have proof of identification to verify certification through a licensed BASSET provider. The cost of a replacement card is $15. Click on BASSET FAQs for more frequently asked seller/serving training-related questions.
Q: What forms of identification are acceptable for purchasing or consuming alcoholic beverages or tobacco products?
A: Acceptable ID’s include the following: A valid current driver’s license or photo ID card issued by the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office or any other State; a valid Armed Forces ID; and a valid U.S. passport or travel visa or passport issued by a foreign country which contains the holder’s photograph.
In Illinois, the Social Host Law, which went into effect January 1, 2013,
- holds adults accountable for underage drinking that occurs in the home
. There are several parts to this law.
• If you allow or host a party at your house and provide alcohol to people under age 21 (or if you know or should have known that they are drinking alcohol), you are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. This will result in a fine. Note that you are held responsible regardless if you are the one who provides the alcohol AND regardless if you are home or not.
• If a minor who was drinking at your house injures or kills someone, you are guilty of a Class 4 felony. This could result in both a fine and/or jail time.
• You will not be guilty of violating the law if you request help from the police to help remove the underage drinkers and stop the gathering. This only holds if you make the first one to call—not if the police show up after a complaint from a neighbor and then you ask for help.
In addition, depending on local community ordinances, you may also be held responsible for the costs of emergency services/law enforcement that respond to a call, attorney fees and other costs associated.
What you can do
FACT: When kids drink alcohol, most of the time it is consumed at home or a friend’s house.
As responsible parents you need to not only prevent access to alcohol in your home but also be a positive role model. Your kids need to know where you stand on underage drinking through ongoing conversations about consequences. And, you need to give them the tools and the ammo to make good decisions about drinking in the many different scenarios they may encounter—at a friend’s house, at a party, after school.
Our best tips for parents:
Be Aware of Factors That May a Child is abusing Alcohol:
• Significant social transitions such as graduating to middle or high school or getting a driver’s license;
• A history of social and emotional problems;
• Depression and other serious emotional problems;
• A family history of alcoholism; and
• Contact with peers involved in troubling activities.
Be a Positive Adult Role Model
• Stay away from alcohol in high-risk situations. For example, do not operate a vehicle after drinking alcohol.
• Get help if you think you have an alcohol-related problem.
• Do not give alcohol to your children. Tell them that any alcohol in your home is off limits to them and to their friends.
Support Your Children and Give Them Space to Grow
• Be involved in your children’s lives.
• Encourage your children’s growing independence, but set appropriate limits.
• Make it easy for your children to share information about their lives.
• Know where your children are, what they are doing, whom they are with, and whom they are friends with.
• Make an effort to get to know the parents of your children’s friends. Share your rules about not allowing alcohol use.
• Find ways for your children to be involved in family life such as doing chores or caring for a younger sibling.
• Set clear rules, including rules about alcohol use. Enforce the rules you set.
• Help your children find ways to have fun without alcohol.
• Do not let your children attend parties at which alcohol is served. Do not allow alcohol at parties in your own home.
• Help your children avoid dangerous situations such as riding in a car driven by someone who has been drinking.
• Help your children get professional help if you are worried about their involvement with alcohol.
• Create a pledge between yourself and your children that promises they will not drink alcohol.
Does Punishment Work?
According to a survey by the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility, here’s what teens say would stop or keep them from drinking again:
• Getting in trouble with the police or law enforcement (68%)
• Getting in trouble or suspended from school (55%)
• Getting suspended or kicked off an important team or club (44%)
• Getting grounded (42%)
• Losing computer/Internet privileges (42%)
• Getting kicked out of the house (41%)
• Getting yelled at (37%)
• Losing threir allowance (33%)
• And their losing driving privileges (32%)
What you and your community can do
There is strength in numbers, so talk with other parents, teachers, leaders and community members about creating a zero tolerance environment for underage drinking. It is important that you and other parents stay on the same page. Some tips:
• Have schools and the community support and reward young people’s decisions not to drink.
• Encourage schools and the community to identify and intervene early with children engaged in underage drinking.
• Put rules about underage drinking in place at home, at school, and in your community.
• Establish agreements of acceptable behavior. Make them well-known, and apply them consistently.
• Do not permit parties and social events at home and elsewhere with underage drinking.
FACT: In Illinois, a third of eighth graders have drunk alcohol in the past year—a rate that is far higher than the national average.
This alarming statistic is just the tip of the iceberg. This same survey of Illinois teens shows that by senior year in high school, mowt say they have started drinking. Add in prom night, when nearly all kids say they will drink on that evening, and you have an underage drinking problem that is out of control—and headed for the inevitable, yet avoidable tragedies such as car accidents, risky behavior, poor decision-making, health implications, and trouble with school, parents and the law.
Prevention is critical, and experts say it has to start sooner than you may think. How soon? Before high school. And that it has to start with parents. Not with the school. Not with the community. Not even with your family doctor although all have a role. Parents. We’ll say it again. Parents are the key.
Why? Studies show that in children eighth grade and below, parents have the most influence over a child’s actions and behavior. By high school, peer pressure starts to be significant, but until then, parental opinion rules. In addition, new laws in Illinois hold parents legally responsible for underage drinking. Yes, you could even go to jail.
So parents, this is your decision to make a difference in your child’s life. In this section of the website, we have included the information you need to start talking to your child, including messaging from our Talk It Up! Parental responsibility campaign. For many of you, this may be a wake-up call—who knew drinking was a problem at such an early age? And who knew that parents could be held accountable? For others, it may be just the opening you need to start having those critical—and yes, potentially lifesaving—conversations with your child.
Not convinced? Consider these consequences of underage drinking
FACT: Underage drinking has consequences!
For young teens they include:
• Suspension from school
• Suspension or expulsion from sports teams
• Trouble with law enforcement
• Higher risk of physical and sexual assault
• Doing poorly in school; failing grades, absenteeism
• Poor decision making and judgment
• Risky sexual behavior, including unprotected sex that can lead to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases such as HIV, HPV, chlamydia
• Social humiliation
• Alcohol poisoning (which can result in death)
• Unruly behavior that can result in fighting, property destruction, even death
• Increased likelihood of tobacco use
• Increased likelihood of trying/using other drugs
• Higher rates of alcoholism/drug dependence later in life for children/teens who drink at an early age (rates are 5 TIMES higher)
• Associated with higher rates of homicide, suicide and motor vehicle crashes
• Affects brain development (brain doesn’t stop developing until age 25). Problems can include neurological impairment leading to memory lapses, slowed neural impulses and irresponsible decision-making…these are LIFELONG effects
Learn more: What the research says
FACT: Here’s what the American Academy of Pediatrics says: “Although the minimum legal drinking age is 21 years, alcohol use by youth continues to be a major problem in the United States. Alcohol consumption can interfere with adolescent brain development, and use of alcohol early in life is associated with future alcohol-related problems.”
Some of the best and brightest minds in science back this up. Below are research highlights revealing the havoc underage drinking plays on social, emotional and physical development of children.
From the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism—a member of the NIH, the federal government’s premier health research organization:
From the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility
From Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
From the Institute of Alcohol Studies
From the National Research Council, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies
From the US Surgeon General
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
From the Office of Applied Studies
The economic consequences for Illinois
FACT: Underage drinking cost the citizens of Illinois $2.9 billion in 2010.
These costs include medical care, work loss and pain and suffering associated with the multiple problems resulting from the use of alcohol by youth. This translates into a cost of $2,276 per year for each youth in the state (or $3.26 for each drink consumed underage—in contrast, the average drink in Illinois retails for $1.12).
Here is how the costs broke out in 2010:
Youth Violence $1.892 billion
Youth Traffic Crashes: $328 million
High Risk Sex (ages 14 to 20) : $244 million
Youth Property Crime: $167 million
Youth Injury: $110 million
Poisonings and Psychoses: $31 million
Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (among mothers aged 15 to 20): $59 million
Youth Alcohol Treatment: $98 million
Myths and facts about underage drinking
Many parents don’t see underage drinking as the major problem that it is today in Illinois because of outdated or uninformed beliefs. Here are some of the biggest misconceptions:
“Kids will be kids”
Exactly. Which is why you need to provide informed, responsible guidance about drinking. The part of the brain involved in judgment and decision-making doesn’t fully develop until age 25. This means that your kids need your help to make good decisions.
“I drank as a teen, so I don’t want to be a hypocrite with my child.”
It is a very different landscape today, with much higher consequences for you and your child. Underage drinking is against the law. This law is enforced in Illinois. Depending on your community, if your child is caught drinking, he or she could face suspension from school or sports teams which, in turn, could affect college admissions or future plans. If you know your child drinks, and you do not intervene, you could face legal sanctions.
“If my child drinks, I’d prefer that he or she does it in our home where I can supervise.”
No, no, no. Allowing anyone under age 21 to drink in your home is against the law. You are subject to fines and potential legal action.
“What’s one drink?”
In a word, everything. Alcohol is a typically the gateway to other substance use/abuse. Know this: A child who drinks at age 15 is four to five times more likely to be an alcoholic later in life.
“Teen drinking is normal. It is not a problem.”
In Illinois, underage drinking is a huge problem, costing the state $2.9 billion annually. It is a public health issue, and drinking is a factor in the leading causes of teen death—accidents, suicide and homicide. Under the influence of alcohol, kids and teens tend to make poor decisions, including having unprotected sex or putting themselves in a situation where physical or sexual assault may occur. Alcohol is also associated with poor grades and behavioral and social problems. It interferes with development; heavy use is linked to poor self esteem, depression, anxiety and dependency on other drugs or tobacco. Yes, it is a problem.
“As a parent, there is nothing I can do…when kids want to drink they will find a way.”
Parents have far more control than they think, especially if they start the conversation about alcohol early. Surveys continually show that parental opinion matters, and that it is far and away the best deterrent to teen alcohol use. But parents, you have to step up and step into your child’s life. Talk to him or her about consequences. Share your opinions. Offer support. Be tough yet loving. And yes, kids who want to drink will look for a way to get alcohol. It is your job as a parent to make it hard for them to access it—and give them alternatives.
UNDER 21? The Bottom Line on FAKE ID’s…
IT IS ILLEGAL to assist in obtaining or to fraudulently obtain, distribute, use, or possess a fraudulent state ID card/driver’s license. Your driving privileges can be suspended for up to one year or revoked for a minimum of one year.
The State of Illinois has the discretionary authority to suspend or revoke driving privileges without a conviction of any person who violates the laws governing fake driver’s licenses and state ID cards, or from anyone caught in possession of another person’s driver’s license or state ID card.
You can be convicted of a CLASS A MISDEMEANOR punishable by up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500 FOR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:
Lending a license or state ID to a friend or knowingly allowing someone (such as a younger sibling) to use it.
Displaying or representing as one’s own any driver’s license or ID card issued to another person.
Possessing a fictitious driver’s license or identification card (“fictitious” means a license containing untrue information produced by the Illinois Secretary of State or another state/federal government office).
Possessing, transferring or providing any identification document, whether real or fictitious, for the purpose of obtaining a fictitious ID card or driver’s license.
Altering or attempting to alter a driver’s license, state ID.
Any subsequent conviction of above is a Class 4 felony.
You can be convicted of a CLASS 4 FELONY punishable by one to three years imprisonment and fines up to $25,000 FOR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:
Possessing a fraudulent Illinois driver’s license or ID card (“fraudulent” means a license or ID card produced by someone other than a government office).
Possessing security equipment to reproduce a govern-mental issued identification card or driver’s license.
Advertising, distributing, manufacturing, or selling a fraudulent driver’s license.
Any subsequent conviction of the aforementioned is a Class 3 felony punishable by up to seven years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Underage Drinking Penalties and Alcohol Possession Laws…
ALCOHOL + MINORS = PENALTIES:
Providing alcohol to an individual under the age of 21: Maximum $2,500 fine and up to a year in jail for a misdemeanor offense. Felony offense can result in a prison sentence of a year or more and fines up to $25,000.
NEW SOCIAL HOST LAW! It is a $500 minimum fine (with a maximum $2,500 fine and up to one year in jail) to knowingly allow underage drinking to occur at a private residence. If serious injury or death occurs because of this activity, individuals are subject to a Class 4 felony (up to three years in prison and fines up to $25,000).
Possession, consumption, purchase, or receipt of alcohol by an individual under the age of 21 years of age:
3-month suspension of driving privileges for court supervision, 6 mos. for first conviction, 1 year for second conviction, and license revocation for subsequent convictions.
Illegal transportation of alcohol in an automobile by an individual under the age of 21: Transporting alcohol is illegal, and anyone in the vehicle can be charged with a maximum $1,000 fine. For the driver, the penalty is mandatory driver’s license suspension for one year on the first offense, and mandatory one-year revocation for subsequent offenses.
UNDERAGE DRINKING & DRIVING:
“USE IT AND LOSE IT” — ZERO TOLERANCE
(Blood Alcohol Content over 0.0 while driving a vehicle)
1st OFFENSE: Three-month suspension of driving privileges; six-month suspension with refusal of alcohol testing.
2nd OFFENSE (before age 21): One-year suspension of driver’s license; two-year suspension with refusal of testing.
NEW LAW! To obtain driving relief, you MUST be 18+ years old, serve 30 days of “hard” suspension, and drive a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) equipped vehicle. Driving without a BAIID is a Class 4 felony. Penalties include a minimum of 30 days in jail (or 300 hours community service), up to three years in prison, and fines up to $25,000.
D.U.I. ARREST DRIVING SANCTIONS
(BAC of at least .08%, a showing of other drugs, or refusing to submit to alcohol or drug testing)
1st OFFENSE: Six-month suspension of driving privileges; one-year suspension with refusal of testing.
2nd OFFENSE (within 5 years): One-year suspension of driving privileges; three-year suspension with refusal of testing. No driving relief possible.
UNDERAGE D.U.I. CONVICTIONS
1st CONVICTION: Up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500. Two-year minimum revocation of driver’s license. Not eligible for driving relief until the second year.
2nd CONVICTION: Up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500. Revocation of driver’s license for minimum five years or until age 21, whichever is longer. Mandatory minimum im-prisonment of five days (or 240 hours of community service).
AGGRAVATED DUI (any DUI resulting in a felony charge, including a DUI resulting in great bodily harm or death; a third or subsequent DUI conviction; or committing a DUI without a valid license, permit, or insurance). Penalties include: Imprisonment of up to 14 years for DUI resulting in the loss of life; Imprisonment of up to 28 years for multiple fatalities; Felony charges vary for offense from a Class 4 felony (one to three years imprisonment) to a Class X felony (6-30 years); Minimum revocation periods vary for offense from a minimum of one year to mandatory life.
Just the Facts (an overview for licensees)
Age requirements and ID laws for alcohol in Illinois. It is against Illinois law to sell or distribute alcoholic beverages to individuals under 21 years of age. Liquor licenses may be revoked and criminal sanctions imposed on licensees and individuals for violating provisions of the law. All alcohol sellers and servers have the right to refuse to sell or serve alcoholic beverages to anyone unable to produce adequate written proof of identity and age.
Sales and Delivery:
It is unlawful to sell, serve, deliver or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age or to any intoxicated person. Violation of this provision is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: Minimum $500.00 fine (maximum $2,500.00); jail sentence of up to one year. Liquor licenses can also be fined, suspended, or revoked.
Illinois law prohibits any person, after purchasing or obtaining alcoholic beverages, from selling, giving or delivering those alcoholic beverages to any individual under the age of 21 years. Violation of this provision is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: Minimum $500.00 fine (maximum $2,500.00); jail sentence of up to one year. Liquor licenses can also be fined, suspended, or revoked.
It is unlawful to sell, give or deliver alcohol to an intoxicated person. Violation of this provision is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: Minimum $500.00 fine (maximum $2,500.00); jail sentence of up to one year. Liquor licenses can also be fined, suspended, or revoked.
Illinois law prohibits the consumption of alcoholic liquor by any person under 21 years of age, which is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: The person under 21 years of age is subject to a minimum $500.00 fine.
A person under the age of 21 is prohibited from possessing alcoholic beverages on the street, highway or any public place or in any place open to the public. Violation of this provision is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: Underage person is subject to a minimum $500.00 fine and (if applicable) additional enhanced penalties for illegal transportation of open liquor.
Illinois law prohibits persons under 21 years of age from purchasing, possessing, consuming and/or accepting a gift of alcoholic beverages, except under the direct supervision and approval of the parent(s) in the privacy of a home or during a religious ceremony. Violation of this provision is a Class A Misdemeanor. Penalty: The person under 21 years of age is subject to a minimum $500.00 fine and 25 hours of community service, preferably as part of an alcohol abuse prevention program.
To prevent sales and/or service of alcoholic beverages to individuals under the age of 21, the licensee, its agent, or an employee has the right to refuse to sell or serve alcoholic beverages to anyone unable to produce adequate written proof of identity and age.
Adequate proof of age and identity of an individual in Illinois is a document issued by a federal, state, county or municipal government including, but not limited to, a driver’s license, selective service card or an Armed Services identification card. Note: All “Under 21” Illinois driver’s licenses and identification cards are in a vertical design and include a red bar indicating the date of when the holder turns 21.
Proof that written identification was demanded, shown and reasonably relied upon may be used as a defense in criminal and/or license revocation proceedings unless the identification shown was known by the licensee to be fraudulent when shown.
Remember: When in doubt about a customer’s age, carefully checking identification is the most direct way to prevent illegal underage sales of alcoholic beverages.
Chicago ILCC Office:
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
100 W. Randolph, Ste. 7-801
Chicago, IL 60601
Ph: 312-814-2206 Fax: 312-814-2241
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
101 West Jefferson, Ste. 3-525
Springfield, IL 62702
Ph: 217-782-2136 Fax: 217-524-1911
- End Notes:
1) AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by Section 3-12(a)(2) and (11) of the Liquor Control Act of 1934 [235 ILCS 5/3-12(a)(2) and (11)].
2) TITLE 77: PUBLIC HEALTH, CHAPTER XVI: LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION, PART 3500 BEVERAGE ALCOHOL SELLERS AND SERVERS EDUCATION AND TRAINING (BASSET) PROGRAMS SECTION 3500.155
3) Section 3500.160
4) Title 11: Alcohol, Horse Racing, and Lottery SUBTITLE A: Alcohol Chapter I: Illinois Liquor Control Commission Part 100 The Illinois Liquor Control Commission
5) Section 100.290
6) Section 100.290
7) Section 100.20
Illinois BASSET on-premise Alcohol Seller Server $14.95
learn2serve off-premise alcohol Seller Server $25.00
Tobacco Seller $9.95
BASSET Certification and Food Handler Course Bundle $24.95
Page last modified on March 4th, 2017 at 9:22 am,