Tag Archives: illinois basset

BASSET Compliance Schedule by County

New BASSET Certification Law – Are You Compliant?

With the passing of Public Act 098-0939, the entire state of Illinois will have mandatory BASSET certification by July 1, 2018, with a county population-based rollout starting as early as July 1, 2015 as listed below. NOTE: Some jurisdictions already require BASSET training even if their required date under the statute has not yet passed. For information on your area, please visit the Illinois Liquor Control Commission website.

BASSET Certification Currently Required

Cook County

As of July 1, 2015, all servers of alcohol and bouncers who check ID must have their BASSET certification in order to work in Cook County.
All new hires must have certification within 120 days of being hired.
All Illinois BASSET cardholders must renew their certification every three years.

BASSET Certification Required By July 1, 2016

Champaign County
DuPage County
Kane County
Lake County
Madison County
McHenry County
St. Clair County
Will County
Winnebago County

BASSET Certification Required By July 1, 2017

Adams County
Boone County
Bureau County
Christian County
Clinton County
Coles County
DeKalb County
Effingham County
Franklin County
Fulton County
Grundy County
Henry County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Kankakee County
Kendall County
Knox County
LaSalle County
Lee County
Livingston County
Logan County
Macon County
Macoupin County
Marion County
McDonough County
McLean County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Morgan County
Ogle County
Peoria County
Randolph County
Rock Island County
Sangamon County
Stephenson County
Tazewell County
Vermilion County
Whiteside County
Williamson County
Woodford County

BASSET Certification Required by July 1, 2018

Alexander County
Bond County
Brown County
Calhoun County
Carroll County
Cass County
Clark County
Clay County
Crawford County
Cumberland County
De Witt County
Douglas County
Edgar County
Edwards County
Fayette County
Ford County
Gallatin County
Greene County
Hamilton County
Hancock County
Hardin County
Henderson County
Iroquois County
Jasper County
Jersey County
Jo Daviess County
Johnson County
Lawrence County
Marshall County
Mason County
Massac County
Menard County
Mercer County
Moultrie County
Perry County
Piatt County
Pike County
Pope County
Pulaski County
Putnam County
Richland County
Saline County
Schuyler County
Scott County
Shelby County
Stark County
Union County
Wabash County
Warren County
Washington County
Wayne County
White County

BASSET Requirements

New BASSET Requirements – Are You Compliant?

basset requirements

With the passing of Public Act 098-0939, the entire state of Illinois will have mandatory BASSET certification by July 1, 2018, with a county population-based rollout starting as early as July 1, 2015 as listed below.

NOTE: Some jurisdictions already require BASSET training even if their required date under the statute has not yet passed. For information on your area, please visit the Illinois Liquor Control Commission website.

BASSET Requirements

BASSET Certification Currently Required
Cook County

As of July 1, 2015, all servers of alcohol and bouncers who check ID must have their BASSET certification in order to work in Cook County.

All new hires must have certification within 120 days of being hired.
All Illinois BASSET cardholders must renew their certification every three years.

BASSET Certification Required By July 1, 2016
Champaign County
DuPage County
Kane County
Lake County
Madison County
McHenry County
St. Clair County
Will County
Winnebago County

BASSET Certification Required By July 1, 2017
Adams County
Boone County
Bureau County
Christian County
Clinton County
Coles County
DeKalb County
Effingham County
Franklin County
Fulton County
Grundy County
Henry County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Kankakee County
Kendall County
Knox County
LaSalle County
Lee County
Livingston County
Logan County
Macon County
Macoupin County
Marion County
McDonough County
McLean County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Morgan County
Ogle County
Peoria County
Randolph County
Rock Island County
Sangamon County
Stephenson County
Tazewell County
Vermilion County
Whiteside County
Williamson County
Woodford County

BASSET Certification Required by July 1, 2018
Alexander County
Bond County
Brown County
Calhoun County
Carroll County
Cass County
Clark County
Clay County
Crawford County
Cumberland County
De Witt County
Douglas County
Edgar County
Edwards County
Fayette County
Ford County
Gallatin County
Greene County
Hamilton County
Hancock County
Hardin County
Henderson County
Iroquois County
Jasper County
Jersey County
Jo Daviess County
Johnson County
Lawrence County
Marshall County
Mason County
Massac County
Menard County
Mercer County
Moultrie County
Perry County
Piatt County
Pike County
Pope County
Pulaski County
Putnam County
Richland County
Saline County
Schuyler County
Scott County
Shelby County
Stark County
Union County
Wabash County
Warren County
Washington County
Wayne County
White County

Designated Driver Training for Alcohol Servers

designated driver training for alcohol servers

basset picture

The goal for a successful night is to have guests come to an establishment, enjoy themselves, get home safely, and create a profitable business. However, it is not a perfect world. Guests who consumed alcohol at a prior establishment can reach the point of intoxication by having just one drink after entering a new establishment.
If they arrive drunk, they assuredly will leave drunk. Guests may also become intoxicated quickly by mixing alcohol with legal, over-the-counter drugs.

We all know, what a pain. Make money then deal with the consequences.

Priority must be given to prevent intoxicated guests leaving liquor serving establishments intoxicated. Remember, you are liable if that guest becomes a drunk driver and, heaven forbid, causes a fatal crash.

The first line of defense begins before guests ever leave your establishment. For example, a serve can ask a group of patrons if there is a designated driver. If the group answers in the affirmative, it is a good practice for a server to document that the designated driver was visibly sober and able to operate a motor vehicle.

If a server or manager has to confront an intoxicated patron, they have the obligation to prevent and persuade the customer not to drive and use alternative transportation. A good part of verbal judo is to tell them,

“Sir, I am sorry I cannot serve you, but I will be happy to call you a cab or someone to pick you up. But if you decide to leave and get in your car to drive home, you leave me no choice but to call the police. What would you like me to do?”

This sucks, but it’s your ass if something goes wrong.

What can the alcoholic beverage industry do besides preventing over service? There are over 13,000 alcohol-related traffic deaths in the United States every year. 40 to 60 percent of these deaths are caused by patrons leaving liquor-serving establishments. A designated driver or cab program can ensure safe customer transport home, and prevent a business from facing lawsuits or worse: Getting their business shut down.

Usually, establishments or local police departments will work out arrangements with cab companies to get intoxicated customers home safely. It is vital for cities to have adequate transportation with enough cabs, and public transportation. This will reduce the risk of impaired drivers causing incidents in communities.

Additionally, some hotels or banquet halls provide bus service to take guests to their hotel; many also encourage those too impaired to drive to leave their car at the establishment and pick up their car the next day. Simply put, a designated driver program can and does save lives.

Illinois Basset website information